New RV Tires

Rory

Howdy, I am brand new to Rving and about to purchase a used National Surfside 29a. It needs new tires and am looking for any recommendations. It needs 245/70/19.5. I was looking at Goodyear G670 RV ULT and there is a huge price difference between Goodyear Commercial Service Center and purchasing them online. I also have had no luck navigating this size tire on Goodyear's website to get the Escapee 15% discount. Any help is appreciated!

The tires that were constructed by Goodyear for use on a motorhome are quite different from those for a truck because the truck uses tires much differently than do most motorhomes. Truck tires spend very little time sitting still and a generally designed for high mileage in a short time. Most RV tires are replaced due to tire age, well before the tread-wear reaches a critical point. For that reason the rubber is compounded much differently as are the belts. You may be interested to know that Michelin also has a tire designed for motorhome use and there are probably others. I used the G670 tires on our fulltime motorhome with great service and wear. I replaced them at 7 years with no visible cracking and good tread. The next set were on the RV when we sold it to downsize. 

Good travelin !...............Kirk

Full-time 11+ years...... Now seasonal travelers.
Kirk & Pam's Great RV Adventure

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQqFswi_bvvojaMvanTWAI

With all due respect, IMO there's a lot of misinformation traded on these forums about tires.  Michelin used to have a lock on the RV community as a result of good marketing and the claim that they made "RV tires" rather than "truck tires".  Since Michelins are seriously overpriced IMHO, now there are lots of people going to Toyos, without any specific evidence other than "I heard they are good tires."