Unique Title and Registration question

I am an Ohio resident that works full time in the oilfield in West Texas. My co-worker (Texas resident) and I are purchasing a travel trailer together in Texas (Dallas area) from someone in a county outside of where he resides in Texas (New Braunfels). 

Is it possible (and what are the steps) to register the trailer if I am the one who makes the purchase and want to include him on the title and registration? Would I purchase it as an out of state resident and then have the title reissued in both our names in Texas? Or just leave it registered and titled in my name on Ohio? Also curious if I would have to physically have the trailer in Ohio to get it titled and registered. The trailer will remain in West Texas and pulling it back to Ohio would not be an option. 

I realize a call to the DMV in Texas would be my first move but it's Friday after hours and need to get some answers before Monday 😁 so I figured someone here might have some insight. 

Edited by Skyscraper610

Most of the time when you register any vehicle the state wants to visibly see and verify the vin# or at least they do in my state.

2017 River Stone Legacy 38MB

2001 T2000 Kenworth

2009 Smart Passion

ET Junior hitch