Need Advise on Purchasing a Used Class C

Hello All!
Happy to be here and delving into a new community.

Looking for a used Class C. Budget is 40K...50K max. 2 people traveling.

Curious about what makes and models that would be best to consider.
Going to put some miles on and travel the country.
Interested in reliability, gas/diesel, operating cost per mile, maintenance, quality of build...anything you can tell me.

I don't know enough to know what I don't know. Lol

Total newbie here. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Welcome! You may be a bit ahead of yourself, or maybe you have done some research already. Why are you focusing on a Class C? I usually tell people to lay our the mission first, as that will generally help you find the type of RV that suits your needs.

First, are you a weekender, part-timer, full-timer? Generally, the longer you are going to be on the road at any one time the larger the RV you will need. I know a couple who are full-timing in a 1973 (yes, 1973) Dodge van conversion, but they are the exception.

Second, Class C rigs often have very limited carrying capacity. There are a few that are nearly at gross vehicle weight with full fuel and two adults. Food, clothes, bedding, etc. puts them over weight. Pay close attention to the carrying capacity of whatever you are looking at and just what is, and is not, included in the base weight of the rig.

Third, unless you are a weekender, and just going to the local State park once in a while, get used to the idea of something towing something else. Many people fall into the trap of thinking that a Class C can be used as a daily driver as well as the home away from home. Packing up for travel every time you want to go to the store or sight-seeing gets old very quickly. A truck that tows a trailer can leave the trailer set up at the campsite while it goes to Wal-Mart. A motorhome with a towed can be left at the campground while the towed goes sight-seeing.